Heartland Tours

Testimonials

In addition to the following testimonials, please see:

TRIPADVISOR

www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Attraction_Review-g186566-d13494141-Reviews-Heartland_Tours-Pitlochry_Perth_and_Kinross_Scotland.html

Jul 2023 • Family
Eddie has a wonderful personality and has a wealth of knowledge to share. He made our drive from Pitlochry to Edinburg very memorable and even shared ideas on what to do while staying there.
Highly recommend!
 
Jul 2023 
Eddie shared with us wonderful highlights from our drive to Pitlochry to Edinburgh. He has a golden personality and great stories to share. He took an interest in us and even stopped for groceries along the way.
After our departure, we found out our daughter left her earrings in his car. He tore apart the car looking for them and found them, sending them back! So very grateful!
Thanks Eddie!
 
Jun 2023
Eddie is an exceptionally friendly, knowledgeable and helpful guide. He took us on a tour of interesting sites between Inverness and Edinburgh, including special stops at Clais-an-Deor Cottage (birthplace of Canadian Prime Minister Alexander Mackenzie) and the kirkyards in Logierait (where Mackenzie's farther is buried) and Moulin (where Mackenize attended school). The attached photos show just some of the locations to which he took us. I would highly recommend Eddie and Heartland Tours.
 
Jul 2023 
We were on a family holiday and Eddie was absolutely amazing. His warm personality was the perfect match to our family dynamic. He was able to flex with the variety of options we choose through out the week. George and Eddie had been in contact and the entire trip had been planned and was a complete surprise each day. Some events had cancelled that had been planned and he made alternative suggestions that fit us perfectly. The drives through this incredibly breath-taking country was truly a blessing. We learned historical things that would never have been known without his vast knowledge of each region. He was very accommodating to our last minute issues like coffee stops, snacks and shopping as our luggage had not made it to the castle for several days. He seemed to know just when we needed to stop for pictures too. I became very car sick and he handled it with grace. He always added a level of protection to each adventure that was very comforting especially being in another country in a land that is very remote at times. The car was absolutely sparkling clean every day. He added personal touch’s like extra water for us that enhanced our adventure for that day. He also arranged for us to have separate drivers as one part of the family departed Pitlochry two days early and headed to Glasgow while George and I stayed and enjoyed our last days recharging before heading back to our life in Florida.
 
Jul 2023
Eddie drove us from Pitlochry, Scotland to Edinburgh. Eddie was fantastic, very accommodating, told us lots of really cool stories of his life and Scotland. Scotland Yard's finest for sure! Even better, my daughter lost some valuable earrings, and he went above and beyond to find them in his car and ship them back to us. Wonderful service, wonderful person, highly recommend!

 

May 2023

From the moment I received his initial response to my inquiry regarding a bespoke tour of the Scottish Highlands, I knew that Eddie Thompson would be the perfect person to fill the bill. He was exceptionally prepared & incredibly engaging & we hit it off almost immediately. The 2 days my husband & I spent touring with him were terrific in every sense of the word & we highly recommend Heartland Tours to anyone who wants to experience all that the Scottish Highlands has to offer. We look forward to making a return trip to Scotland to visit the Isle of Skye and will definitely book his services again when we do.

Karen H.  Bethlehem 

 

Jul 2023 
Toured with Eddie Thomson for 3-1/2 days in his luxurious BMW SUV in which he always had water and umbrellas at hand (as well as lowering the car for me when getting into the vehicle ). He was attentively accommodating - letting us out and then parking, collecting our luggage, etc). Arranged as part of our touring with him, picking us up in Edinburgh and then taking us to our next destination.

We had corresponded with Eddie over a course of months (and a 1000 emails he joked) but he put together an itinerary (since we wanted to see the country and learn history not just tourist highlights ) and then we set out each day.

Since Eddie is from the area we particularly liked hearing about his own experiences and he showed us “local” sights I doubt other tour guides even know about. The personal connections he has is evident in everyone on the street stopping to talk with him !

He was such fun giving us history lessons and helping us grasp the timelines of events. We now have an appreciation of how Queen Victoria’s love of this area has impacted history (culminating in Balmoral) - passed down through the Royal generations to Queen Elizabeth, and how it has been the catalyst for development and tourist interest.

Having worked in London at Scotland Yard, Eddie was also able to answer questions we had about London, too.

Eddie expertly navigates the roads. Ever so glad he was at the wheel instead of us, since so very different driving here from the U.S. Not just left side of the road and driving from the right of the vehicle, but the narrow roads and stopping to let others pass.

Our first trip to Scotland and Eddie left us wanting to return again to resume another tour with him!

 

June 2023

Five Stars would not be enough for Heartland Tours and Eddie! His service is exceptional, thoughtfully planned and just plain fun!!  Eddie took care of our family for three days in the Highlands when we  stayed in Pitlochry.  He picked us up from the airport in Edinburgh and the adventure began!  We started learning about the Highlands, the  local area, and our hotel on our first day. The second day we had a full day tour in the Highlands, including Balmoral and distilleries.  He even made a special trip so that we could visit our own little patch of land in Scotland! The third day was even more special with unique locations and stops on the way back to Edinburgh.  The best part of the entire experience was just riding around in the car with Eddie, enjoying the history and the scenery, and listening to him tell stories about life in the Highlands, both past and present.  We all agreed that we wish we had spent more time in Pitlochry and the Highlands.  Eddie treated us like part of his family.  We highly recommend Heartland Tours for your next visit to Scotland!

Tracy and Clan Henry

 
Sep 2022
Anyone who doesn't tour Scotland with Heartland Tours should just stay home. Eddie's outgoing personality, local knowledge and experience deliver a lush experience that Scotland is meant to be. Schedule him in advance. You'll see more of Scotland with an understanding of what your are seeing than you would on your own and at a more relaxed pace than a structured operated tour. As an added bonus you'll make a good friend, also. Keep Charging Eddie!
John O.
 

"We had the perfect day trip planned by Eddie beginning in Pitlochry. Eddie was detailed oriented, easy to communicate with and thoughtful planned a bespoke day with our "must-see" spots in mind. Not only did we get to see everything we wanted, but he also included other great points of interest along the way. Eddie was extremely knowledgeable and genuinely enjoyed sharing about the area. His attention to detailed, level of service and hospitality made our journey stress-free and comfortable. I will be using the Heartland Tour services again during my time in Scotland and highly recommend.

Alex Knauf Chicago 2nd March 2022

 

Mar 2023
Where do we start? Eddie was a gem on the crown of our entire Scotland experience! One of the most generous, friendly, and knowledgeable Scots we met on the entire trip. What an amazing tour guide! Thank you Eddie. From the moment of your first correspondence, you felt like a friend; you did not disappoint! Our enjoyment of the west highlands was made all the more special with you at the wheel. I'm glad the weather broke just enough for the gamble to pay off sir. We could not recommend your services more highly and your name will be on every mention of our experience (and future experiences) in Scotland...and we promise, never to break the bubble my friend!
 
Shaun C. April 2023

 

Eddie is both a very knowledgeable and engaging tour guide. Loved his anecdotes (both historical and personal) and a very enjoyable day.

Kevin T and Family

 
Jun 2022
Eddie Thomson is a tour guide par excellence! We hired him for 4 days touring throughout the Highlands and Lowlands, and what a good decision that was! He is the consummate professional yet had such a warm and engaging manner with a great sense of humor. There were 8 of us, and we were treated like royalty. He accommodated every request, and was easily able to make suggestions that were appropriate for us. He was a delight, and made our trip one of a lifetime.
Stella F.
 

Cannot recommend Eddie enough. What a great day out. Complete knowledge of all things Scottish delivered in an enthusiastic and open way. We did a six hour trip in a lovely BMW from Pitlochry to Braemar to Aviemore, custom made to our requirements. Despite the weather we had a blast. We will be back.

The Dunstan Family from Fife

 

"I want you to know how much we enjoyed the 5 days of bespoke touring you arranged for us, as well as the ensuing appreciation and affection for Scotland we now have after sharing your country with you. We also thank you for your impeccable organizational abilities, professionalism, knowledge and obvious enjoyment of your work which made our time with you so special. Hope we meet again soon."
Aidan, Linda and Murray Moffat, Toronto, Canada

 

"Eddie, I cannot begin to thank you for all you have done for me- I am truly grateful, my friend!"
Genet Meers, New York State

 

"We had a wonderful time with you Eddie. We have been running around Scotland trying to see it all and just have not had time to tell you how much we enjoyed the tour with Heartland Tours. Wish we had known you sooner Eddie. We must leave tomorrow and I, of course, do not want to leave Scotland. Hope to meet up next time. Will tell all my friends about how wonderful you are. Thank you. "
Libby Barnhardt and family, Alaska, USA

 

"Hi Eddie, A belated thank for our great day - it was a pleasure getting to know you and see your beautiful country! It was a highlight for both Dave & I. Should you find yourself in Chicago - let us know!"
David and Jennifer Schmitz, Chicago

 

"We hope you and your family are well in Scotland. We had an uneventful return to the US from our holiday in lovely Scotland, and truly enjoyed our time together with you. We had great fun touring the country, and learning its history from your deep (and witty) knowledge, and did depart friends. Neither of us has yet developed a taste for Irn-Bru. ☺"
Anne and Terrence Lyons, USA

 

"Back in Madrid and we have so good memories of our days with you. Ada is now your big fan, she tells everyone that meeting you was the best experience of the trip. We also loved the Enchanted Forest. Would like to thank you again for your help and all your patience with us, and specially for your friendly company. We will recommend you to anybody travelling to Scotland and hope to see you"
Mati and Ada, Madrid

 

"Eddie gave us one of the best tours we have ever had. And we have travelled the world. He was very personable... we had great conversation, laughed and had great fun. His knowledge kept us interested and he left us wanting more... We will be going back to Pitlochry to take another tour with Eddie. Thank you Eddie for making our experience in Scotland GREAT!"
Patty Flood, review from Facebook

 

"My sisters and I just got back from our tour of the Highlands with Eddie. It was such a fantastic day! Not only was the drive comfortable and convenient, but Eddie was the best guide imaginable! He walked us through Scottish history and local knowledge and was extremely engaging and funny! Would definitely recommend if you're in Scotland and want a wonderful tour, Eddie is willing to take you just about anywhere! Overall it was a great day and would definitely go on another one! "
Brendan Wilkie, review from Facebook

 

"Totally recommend Eddie to take you around the country he loves. Capable driver, friendly, knowledgeable, fun, accommodating. We had a great day ... Saw lots ... Learned lots ... Laughed lots ... Couldn't ask for more! Hopefully Eddie will still be taking tours next time we're here!! The 4 Aussies! "
Kathryn Churchett, review from Facebook

 

"We toured Pitlochry and the Perthshire region with Eddie Thomson and had a wonderful time! He accommodated the tour with what we wanted to see and visit, we asked every question imaginable and he answered with a vast knowledge of history. He's not only funny and punctual but an excellent driver as well. Would highly recommend for any Scottish visit. "
Marisol Aguilar, review from Facebook

 

"My wife and I just returned from a truly memorable trip to Scotland for a wedding. We had the good fortune of booking a day trip with Eddie and spent 9 hours learning about the Highlands and making a new friend. Eddie is professional, courteous, knowledgable and a pleasure to spend time with. You would be doing yourself a huge disservice not taking a day with Eddie. You will talk about him for weeks after your trip and all of the information you learned. Thank you Eddie for some great memories! "
Sherry Schad, review from Facebook

Plan your own bespoke trip

Where, without restrictions, you decide where we go in Scotland.

You can even change your mind on the day to suit your mood or the weather.  With a maximum party of 4, we truly offer a personal and private service selected or designed by you.

Testimonials

Read what people who have been on a Heartland Tour have to say.......

© 2024 Heartland Tours. All Rights Reserved Sunnybank, 19 Lower Oakfield, Pitlochry, Perthshire, PH16 5DS

Phone: +44 (0)1796 472911 Mobile: +44 (0)7773 886035 Email: eddie@heartlandtours.co.uk

Privacy Policy | Web Smart Media